Cougars' McLaren picks up Zone IV Award

Carman Cougar Dylan McLaren was named the Defenseman of the Year for the Zone IV Hockey League. (supplied photo)

Share Adjust Comment Print

The Zone IV Hockey League announced their league award winners and Carman Cougars defenseman Dylan McLaren was named the Lew Mueller Defenseman of the Year while the entire team took home the Charlie Maykut Fair Play Award.

McLaren finished the Zone IV season with 17 total points, six goals and 11 assists in just 15 games played. McLaren also played some games with the Pembina Valley Hawks this season.

The League Champion Morris Mavericks went undefeated at the MHSAA A/AA Provincial Championships, defeating Hamiota Huskies 4-1 to capture the provincial banner. The Mavericks also won the provincial championship in 2015.

The Morris Mavericks pose with the Zone IV Hockey Championship banner. The club also won the MHSAA Provincial Championship recently as well. (Supplied photo)

A full list of award winners can be found below.

  • MVP – Justin Keck, Morris Mavericks
  • Top Scorer – Wyatt Cobb – Pembina Tigers
  • Top goalie – Logan Enns, Garden Valley Zodiacs
  • Top Defensive Team – Morris Mavericks
  • Charlie Maykut Fair Play Award – Carman Cougars
  • Lloyd C. Orchard Most Sportsmanlike Player – Daniel Isaak, Morris Maverick
  • Lew Mueller Defenseman of the Year – Dylan McLaren, Carman Cougars
  • Official of the Year – Shane Froebe
  • Coaching staff of the Year – Garden Valley Zodiacs

Carman Cougars Scott Atkins accepts the Charlie Maykut Fair Play Award on behalf of the Carman Cougars. (supplied photo)

Morris Mavericks captain Stanley Storck accepting the award for the Top Defensive Team in Zone IV Hockey. (supplied photo)

Zone IV Hockey League MVP Justin Keck poses for a photo with his trophy. (supplied photo)