Carman Game and Fish Association Derby winners

Derby winners Vincent Klassen, Logan Major and Jason Bourgeois pose for a photo at the competition. (supplied photo)

Share Adjust Comment Print

The Carman Game and Fish Association had another successful Banquet on January 26, 2019.

The winners for 2018 are as follows:

Yearly Fish Winners:
Silver Bass: 1st Justin Major 42 1/4”, 2nd Rick Tkachyk 34”.
Walleye: TIE – 1st Daren Gitzel 29”, Justin Major 29”.
Perch: 1st Jackie Grundy 13 1/2”, 2nd Rick Tkachyk 11 1/2”.
Sauger: 1st Rick Tkachyk 14 1/2”.
Smallmouth Bass: 1st Jackie Grundy 19 1/2”, 2nd Rick Tkachyk 15”.
Freshwater Drum: 1st Cliff Major 29 1/2”, 2nd Daren Gitzel 25”.
Bullhead: TIE – 1st Rick Tkachyk 14”, Daren Gitzel 14”.
Catfish: 1st Christy Nicolajsen 39 1/2”, 2nd Armin Gitzel 39 1/4”.
Rock Bass: 1st Rick Tkachyk 7 1/2”.
Burbot: 1st Jackie Grundy 22”, 2nd Tyler Grundy 17”.
Tullabie: 1st Jackie Grundy 18”, 2nd Tyler Grundy 17 1/2”.
Rainbow Trout: 1st Murray Derkson 22”.
Sturgen: 1st Armin Gitzel 31”, 2nd Darren Gitzel 30”.

Youth Yearly Fish Winners: 1st Luke Nordquist 22 3/4”.
Silver Bass: 1st Luke Nordquist 21 1/2”.
Walleye: 1st Shelby Nicolajsen 25 1/4”, 2nd Isabella Naphin 18”.
Catfish: 1st Shelby Nicolajsen 36”.

2018 Annual Derby:
Overall Winner: Deb Kon 25 1/4”.
1st Lawerence Skwara 25 1/8”, 2nd Ron Kon 19”.
Junior: 1st Kylie Wardle 20 1/2”.

Goose: 1st Jackie Grundy 15 lbs.
Photo Contest: Wildflowers/foliage: 1st Patti Norman.

Deer head competitions are measured in eighths and winners were:
Overall deer head (Corrnie Giesbrecht Trophy) was Cliff Major 150.4.
Rifle: 1st Cliff Major 150.4, 2nd Lloyd Nordquist 116.4.
Muzzleloader: 1st Dale McInnis 110.
Archery: 1st Mark Salter.

Youth – Rifle: 1st Felix Parvais.
Most Even: Cliff Major 2.7.

Ice Derby

The Carman Game and Fish Annual Open Ice Derby held Feb 16, 2019, at Stephenfield Lake dealt with a lot of snow on the lake but was an overall great day of fishing.

Karl Bergen was the winner for longest Perch with a 9.5” fish and winning $120. Vincent Klassen took second with a 9” fish and received $60.

Logan Major took the Jackfish competition 30.25” fish and took home $175 while Jason Bourgoeis won $87.50 with his with a 29.25” fish.